Manila Bulletin Backs Philippine Master’s Team at 2024 Asian Underwater Hockey Championships

Philippine Men's Masters Team Gears Up for Prestigious Singapore Event with Major Sponsorship

Manila, Philippines – The Manila Bulletin, The Nation’s Leading Newspaper, has confirmed its sponsorship of the Philippine Men’s Masters Underwater Hockey Team for the 8th Asian Underwater Hockey Championships, scheduled to be held in Singapore on August 8, 2024.


The Asian Underwater Hockey Championships, a key event in the sport, features national teams from across Asia. The competition showcases talent, strategy, and dedication, with teams competing for the title of the continent’s best.

The current training pool for the Manila Bulletin Men’s Masters Team roster includes:

  • Carlos de Guzman, Team Captain
  • Raymond Yap, Vice Captain
  • Leonard Samonte, Coach / Player
  • Raymund John Musa
  • Emmanuel Floresca
  • Dr. Benson Martinez
  • Herb Baylon
  • Aboy Capili
  • Victor Burgos
  • Allan Caroche
  • Edric Ochoa
  • Bon Nelson Sibulan
  • Jose Kristopher Serrano
  • Emanuel Calso
  • Joel Beloy

Led by Team Captain Carlos de Guzman, the team represents the Philippines’ commitment to excellence in Underwater Hockey.

Raymond Yap of the Yap family group of companies commented, “Manila Bulletin is proud to support the Manila Bulletin Masters Team as title sponsor, as it aligns with nationalism and the country’s international quest of gold medals and sportsmanship.”

Carlos de Guzman, Team Captain and President of the Philippine Underwater Hockey Confederation, remarked, “Our partnership with Manila Bulletin is a significant step towards elevating our presence in Underwater Hockey. This support is vital in our quest for success at the AUHC, showcasing our team’s skill and dedication on an international platform. We are deeply thankful for this partnership, which bolsters our commitment and focus on achieving notable success at the upcoming championships.”

In the picture (L-R) : Aboy Capili, Raymond John Musa, Victor Burgos, Jose Kristopher Serrano, Herb Baylon, Leonard Samonte (Coach), Raymond Yap (Vice Captain), Carlos de Guzman (Team Captain), Dr. Benson Martinez, Edric Ochoa, Emanuel Calso, Joel Beloy and Allan Caroche

This year’s Master’s Division in the AUHC introduces separate categories for Women and Men/Open, a first in the championship’s history. Each team features a roster of up to 12 athletes, with a playing format that includes six active players and four substitutes in each match.

The Manila Bulletin Men’s Masters Team’s entry into the championships is a representation of the Philippines’ commitment to fostering talent and competing at an international level in sports.


comments Team

A triathlete making a comeback and a true blue Scorpio. That sums it up quite nicely :)

Leave a Reply

Back to top button